Sixth Division




On 1 February 1917 the British government made a formal request for a sixth division. On 15 February 1917 the Australian government assented and the Sixth Division began to form in England.

Heavy casualties in the fighting at Bullecourt in April and May, and at Messines in June caused the project to be abandoned and the 6th Division was broken up in September 1917.






Sixth Division (England, August 1917)




Main 1st Division 2nd Division 3rd Division 4th Division 5th Division 6th Division NZ & Australian Division Anzac Mounted Division Australian Mounted Division

Page created by Ross Mallett